June 27, 2016

Will you brave the secrets of God's City?

Next month's selection for the SF&F Literati is Emma Newman's Planetfall. The meeting is set for July 25!

Have you ordered your copy yet? It's available from meeting host Barnes & Noble, and other find booksellers!

Here's what other writers have said about Planetfall:
Planetfall is gripping, thoughtful science fiction in the vein of Tiptree or Crispin. Emma Newman has crafted a story that turns inward on itself in a beautiful spiral; the written equivalent of the golden mean. I have been waiting for this book for a very long time.” —Seanan McGuire, New York Times bestselling author of A Red-Rose Chain (NOTE: also the ConQuesT 47 Toast, last May!)

“You’ve never read a science fiction book like this. A masterful study of mental illness, with the ruins of an enigmatic alien race serving as therapist for one of the most unsparingly drawn fictional characters you’ll ever read.” —Melinda M. Snodgrass, screenwriter, author of the Edge series

“Newman has crafted a thrilling tale of murder, mystery and madness on a world where humanity is still its own worst enemy. Horrifying and heartbreaking in equal measure, the catastrophe driving this narrative will keep you riveted until the very last page. Don’t miss this one.” —Kameron Hurley, author of The Mirror Empire

“We have a destiny waiting for us among the stars, and now it’s calling to us. A great genre debut, and beautifully written: an unfolding alien mystery, and complex, utterly believable characters. You will want to believe.” —Stephen Baxter, National Bestselling Author of Ultima

“Filled with wonders, revelations, and edge-of-the-seat suspense, Planetfall is a fascinating, heartbreaking exploration of love and loneliness set against an awe-inspiring backdrop. An instant classic of the genre.” —Gareth L. Powell, BSFA Award-winning author of Ack-Ack Macaque 

Image: Many thanks to Em’s Place, Emma Newman’s author website, for the cover art image (and the collection of author endorsements).

June 24, 2016

Not eaten, after all?

SF&F Literati Discuss Uprooted
Date: Monday, June 27, 2016
Title: Uprooted 
Author: Naomi Novik
Available fromFine Booksellers, including Barnes &Noble
Meeting Location: Barnes & Noble #2352, 2nd Floor
     11323 W. 95th Street, Overland Park, KS 66214

NOTE: Uprooted is a Hugo finalist THIS YEAR! It also has been honored as “one of the best books of the year” by NPR and others.

Plot Overview from Barnes & Noble
“Our Dragon doesn’t eat the girls he takes, no matter what stories they tell outside our valley. We hear them sometimes, from travelers passing through. They talk as though we were doing human sacrifice, and he were a real dragon. Of course that’s not true: he may be a wizard and immortal, but he’s still a man, and our fathers would band together and kill him if he wanted to eat one of us every ten years. He protects us against the Wood, and we’re grateful, but not that grateful.”

Agnieszka loves her valley home, her quiet village, the forests and the bright shining river. But the corrupted Wood stands on the border, full of malevolent power, and its shadow lies over her life.

Her people rely on the cold, driven wizard known only as the Dragon to keep its powers at bay. But he demands a terrible price for his help: one young woman handed over to serve him for ten years, a fate almost as terrible as falling to the Wood.
The next choosing is fast approaching, and Agnieszka is afraid.

She knows—everyone knows—that the Dragon will take Kasia: beautiful, graceful, brave Kasia, all the things Agnieszka isn’t, and her dearest friend in the world. And there is no way to save her.

But Agnieszka fears the wrong things. For when the Dragon comes, it is not Kasia he will choose.

IMAGE: Many thanks to Tor for the cover art image.

Plan NOW for the July 25 meeting! The selection is Planetfall, by Emma Newman.